Boys Capture 2nd Public School State Championship Title

Sparta Boys Ski Team Public School State Champions 2024
Drew Young
Ryan Grycuk
Pat Fitzsimmons
Captain George Flint
Chase Thonus
Matt Stites
Captain Madison Campisi
Julia Smith
Ava Dyrsten
Maddie Gambino
Sunny Young
Captain Devon Dobbs

The Sparta Boys' and Girls' Alpine Ski teams gave it their all at the 2024 Slalom State Championships at Mountain Creek on Monday, February 26th, and in the end, the Sparta High School Boys Ski Team captured their 2nd straight Public School State Championship. The Sparta boys' team raced to 5th in the slalom championships, while the girls' ski team finished in 7th place. The boys earned 5th place overall and the girls finished 6th overall at the 2024 NJISRA State Championships.

BOYS STATE CHAMPIONSHIPS: The Pingry Boys' High School won the slalom championship with a team time of 5:02.39. Delbarton finished second with a team time of 5:09.80 and Pope John finished third with a team time of 5.31.67. The Sparta Boys' Ski Team took 5th place with a team time of 5:48.55 thanks to Senior Drew Young with a 10th place overall finish followed by Ryan Grycuk, Pat Fitzsimmons and George Flint. The Sparta Boys finished 5th place overall and for the second year in a row captured the title of NJISRA Public School State Champions.

GIRLS STATE CHAMPIONSHIPS: The Vernon Girls' High School ran away with the slalom championship title with a 24 second lead and team time of 5:13.64, Ridge secured second place with a team time of 5:37.93, followed by Immaculate Heart taking podium third with a team time of 5:43.51. The Sparta girls' ski team delivered a team time 5:57.55 finishing in 7th place. Team Captain Madison Campisi led the girls ski team with two solid runs taking 5th place overall, along with teammates Julia Smith, Ava Dyrsten and Maddie Gambino. The Sparta Girls finished 6th place overall at the 2024 NJISRA State Championships.

Congrats to the Sparta Boys and Girls Ski teams for winning the NJAC National Division Championship title.

Photo Credits: Kathyrn McKeever

View Detailed Slalom Race Results